

# 10th Annual General Meeting

25th January 2023 at 12.45

Venue: **Institute of Physics, 37 Caledonian Road, London N1 9BU** and online via Zoom

## **Draft Minutes**

### Attending:

**N.B.** All attendees had pre-registered with the Honorary Secretary.

(\*) indicates an existing trustee (at beginning of meeting) participating as a member representative.

(\*\*) indicates an existing trustee (not eligible to vote at the AGM).

Nigel Llewellyn (**NL**)\*\* (Chair) Trevor F. Emmett (**TE**)\*\* (Honorary Secretary) Nancy Bell Adam Gibson Alex Ball

By Member Institution (and voting representative):

British Museum Carl Heron (CH)\*

Durham University Freya Horsfield (FH)\* (online)

English Heritage Trust Amber Xavier-Rowe

Historic England Jen Heathcote (JH)\* (also Honorary Treasurer)

Historic Environment Scotland Aurelie Turmel (AT) (online)
Historic Royal Palaces Constantina Vlachou (CV)

Icon Sara Crofts (SC)\*
National Archives Lora Angelova (LA)

National Galleries Scotland Ailsa Roberts (AR) (online)
National Trust Rebecca Hellen (RH) (online)
Tate Galleries Bronwyn Ormsby (BO) (online)

University College London Josep Grau Bove (JGB)

#### In attendance:

May Cassar (UCL)

Caroline Peach (Preservation Matters Ltd) taking minutes.

#### Apologies:

**Cardiff University** 

National Museums Scotland Chanté St Clair Inglis - proxy votes recorded with Honorary Secretary, Trevor Emmett

University of Cambridge Museums University of Oxford Wellcome Collection West Dean College

#### 1. Welcome from the Chair

The meeting started at 12.45.

The Chair (NL) welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. **Report** on NHSF's activities in 2021-22 from the Chair and priorities for 2022-23.

The Chair (NL) referred attendees to the published Trustees' Annual Report which gives an account of activities in 2021-22 and the strategic priorities for 2022-23.

Amongst the priorities are work on the strategic development of infrastructure funding and work to review the current Strategic Framework for Heritage Science in the UK (2018-2023).

There were no questions.

3. **Minutes** of 9<sup>th</sup> AGM held on 28<sup>th</sup> January 2022 and matters arising.

The minutes of the 9<sup>th</sup> AGM held on 28<sup>th</sup> January 2022 had been circulated in advance. There were no questions or matters arising. It was **AGREED** that the minutes should be signed by NL as a correct record.

4. **Ordinary resolution 1:** To receive the trustees' annual report for the year ending 31st March 2022

NL introduced the Trustees' Annual Report for the year ending 31st March 2022. There were no questions and so the resolution to receive the Trustees' Annual Report for the year ending 31st March 2022 was proposed by CV and seconded by LA.

All votes (13) were in favour and the proposal was **AGREED.** 

5. **Ordinary resolution 2:** To receive the statement of annual accounts for the year ending 31st March 2022

NL introduced the Annual Accounts for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2022. There were no questions and so the resolution to receive the Annual Accounts for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2022 was proposed by SC and seconded by NB.

All votes (13) were in favour and the proposal was AGREED.

6. **Ordinary resolution 3:** To appoint or reappoint the following people as trustees of the charity Nigel Llewellyn (for a one-year term as Chair)

Alex Ball

Nancy Bell Sara Crofts Jen Heathcote (as Treasurer)

It was agreed that Trevor F. Emmett (Honorary Secretary) would act as Chair for this agenda item due to the current Chair being eligible for reappointment as a trustee. Information on the people proposed for appointment or reappointment as trustees had been circulated in advance. TE introduced the proposal to reappoint Nigel Llewellyn for a one-year term as Chair, appoint Alex Ball and Nancy Bell for three-year terms as trustees, and reappoint Sara Crofts and Jen Heathcote for three-year terms as trustees. There were no questions. The resolution to appoint or reappoint trustees was proposed by CV and seconded by JGB. All votes (13) were in favour and the proposal was **AGREED.** 

## 7. Any other business

The Chair reverted to NL. NL thanked CH and TE for their participation as active trustees of the Forum for many years and noted TE's role as the Forum's first Honorary Secretary.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 13.00.