

# **Annual General Meeting**

World Conservation and Exhibitions Centre, The British Museum, Great Russell Street, WC1B 3DG 15.30, 11<sup>th</sup> November 2014

## **Minutes**

#### **Attending**

Sarah Staniforth (SS), Museums and Collections Director, National Trust (Chair)
Nancy Bell (NB), Head of Collection Care, The National Archives
Gill Campbell (GC), Head of Environmental Studies, English Heritage
Simon Cane (SC), Interim Director, Birmingham Museums Trust
Professor May Cassar (MC), Director Institute of Sustainable Heritage, UCL
Mary Davis (MD), Principal Analytical Services Officer, National Museum of Wales
Dr Christina Duffy (CD), Conservation Imaging Scientist, The British Library
Dr Ewan Hyslop (EH), Head of Sustainability, Research and Technical Education, Historic Scotland

Scotland
Katy Lithgow (KL), Head Conservator, National Trust
Alison Richmond (AR), Chief Executive, ICON
Jacqueline Ridge (JR), Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries Scotland
Dr David Saunders (DS), Keeper of Conservation and Scientific Research, The British Museum
Dr Constantina Vlachou (CV), Senior Conservation Scientist, Historic Royal Palaces
Professor David Watkinson (DW), Professor (Conservation), Cardiff University

#### **Apologies**

David Howell **(DH)**, Head of Conservation Research, Bodleian Library, Oxford University Dr Edward Impey **(EI)**, Director, Royal Armouries
John Jackson **(JJ)**, Science Policy Adviser, Natural History Museum
Dr Pip Laurenson **(PL)**, Head of Collection Care Research, Tate
Dr Cordelia Rogerson **(CR)**, Head of Conservation, British Library

#### In attendance

George Gawlinski **(GG),** Planning Together Associates Caroline Peach **(CP)**, Administrator, National Heritage Science Forum Trustees and Members had agreed during their meeting at 13.30 on 11<sup>th</sup> November 2014 to defer the start of the AGM until 16.30.

#### 1. Welcome

Sarah Staniforth welcomed members to the second Annual General Meeting of the National Heritage Science Forum.

#### 2. Minutes of 24 June 2013 meeting and matters arising

The minutes of the previous AGM on 24 June 2013 had been circulated in advance. The minutes were agreed as a correct record by all trustees and members present. There were no matters arising.

### 3. Ordinary resolution 1: To receive the trustees' annual report and annual accounts

It was noted that the Charity Commission does not require the National Heritage Science Forum to submit a trustees' annual report or accounts until after March 2015.

The resolution to receive the trustees' annual report and annual accounts was proposed by SS, seconded by DS and unanimously agreed.

#### 4. Ordinary resolution 2: To appoint trustees of the charity

SS thanked the trustees standing down at the AGM (David Saunders, Simon Cane, Sarah Staniforth) and those who had retired earlier in the year (Deborah Novotny, Diane Gwilt).

In accordance with NHSF's Constitution all trustees retired at the AGM.

The following trustees stood for election or re-election:

Nancy Bell, Head of Collection Care, The National Archives

Gill Campbell, Head of Environmental Studies, English Heritage

Mary Davis, Principal Analytical Services Officer, National Museum Wales

Professor May Cassar, Director, UCL Institute of Sustainable Heritage

Dr Christina Duffy, Imaging Scientist, The British Library

David Howell, Head of Conservation Research, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford

Dr Ewan Hyslop, Head of Sustainability, Research and Technical Information, Historic Scotland

Dr Edward Impey, Director, Royal Armouries

John Jackson, Science Policy Adviser, Natural History Museum

Dr Pip Laurenson, Head of Collection Care Research, Tate

Katy Lithgow, Head Conservator, National Trust

Alison Richmond, Chief Executive, Icon, the Institute of Conservation

Jacqueline Ridge, Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries of Scotland

Dr Constantina Vlachou, Senior Conservation Scientist, Historic Royal Palaces

Professor David Watkinson, Professor of Conservation, Cardiff University

The members unanimously agreed to elect or re-elect the trustees.

#### 5. Appointment of Chair

EH proposed a vote of thanks to SS for acting as Chair of NHSF and for the achievements of NHSF in the period led by SS.

SS resigned as Chair of the National Heritage Science Forum and nominated Professor May Cassar and Nancy Bell as her successors, acting as Co-Chairs until a new Chair is recruited. SS asked all present if anyone else would like to stand for the position of Chair. There were no additional candidates.

SS proposed, AR seconded and it was unanimously agreed that Nancy Bell and Professor May Cassar be elected as Co-Chairs of NHSF.

#### 6. To agree to the following motion, that:

- i. NHSF should aim to be an effective campaigning body for heritage science.
- ii. NHSF should secure funding beyond membership fees for its campaigns.
- iii. A fund-raising programme should be launched to support its campaigns.

MC introduced the motion which provides a framework for NHSF to raise funds independently of its membership income to support future advocacy activities.

The motion was amended with 'advocacy' substituted for 'campaigns' as follows:

- i. NHSF should aim to be an effective campaigning body for heritage science.
- ii. NHSF should secure funding beyond membership fees for its advocacy work.
- iii. A fund-raising programme should be launched to support its advocacy work.

The amended motion was proposed by MC, seconded CV and unanimously agreed by all present.

#### 7. Any other business

There was no other business.

The AGM closed at 16.45.