

Annual General Meeting

G12 Council Room, University College London 16 December 2015

Draft Minutes

Attending

Nancy Bell (NB), Head of Collection Care, The National Archives (Co-Chair) Gillian Boal (GB), Conservation and Collections Care Manager, The Wellcome Library Dr Spike Bucklow (SB), Senior Research Scientist, University of Cambridge Museums Dr Anna Buelow (AB), Acting Head of Conservation and Scientific Research, British Museum Deborah Cane (DC), Collections Care Manager, Birmingham Museums Trust Gill Campbell (GC), Head of Environmental Studies, Historic England Professor May Cassar (MC), Director Institute of Sustainable Heritage, UCL Dr Mary Davis (MD), Principal Analytical Services Officer, National Museum Wales David Howell (DH), Head of Heritage Science, Bodleian Library, Oxford University Dr Ewan Hyslop (EH), Head of Technical Research and Science, Historic Environment Scotland Dr Edward Impey (EI), Director, Royal Armouries John Jackson (JJ), Science Policy Adviser, Natural History Museum Dr Pip Laurenson (PL), Head of Collection Care Research, Tate Katy Lithgow (KL), Head Conservator, National Trust Alastair McCapra (AM), Chair designate Alison Richmond (AR), Chief Executive, ICON Dr Constantina Vlachou (CV), Senior Conservation Scientist, Historic Royal Palaces Amber Xavier-Rowe (AXR), Head of Collections Conservation, English Heritage Trust

Apologies

Dr Christina Duffy **(CD)**, Conservation Imaging Scientist, The British Library Jacqueline Ridge (JR), Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries Scotland Professor David Watkinson **(DW)**, Professor (Conservation), Cardiff University

In attendance

Caroline Peach (CP), Consultant Development Director, National Heritage Science Forum

1. Welcome

The meeting started at 16.30.

Nancy Bell welcomed members to the meeting in her role as Chair.

2. Minutes of 11 November 2014 meeting and matters arising

The minutes of the previous AGM on 11 November 2014 had been circulated in advance. The minutes were proposed as a correct record by MC, seconded by NB and unanimously agreed by all members present.

There were no matters arising.

3. Ordinary resolution 1: To receive the trustees' annual report and annual accounts

The resolution to receive the trustees' annual report and annual accounts was proposed by CV, seconded by GC and unanimously agreed.

4. Ordinary resolution 2: To appoint or reappoint trustees of the charity

In accordance with NHSF's Constitution one third of trustees retire at the AGM.

The following trustees stood for appointment or reappointment:

Gillian Boal (GB), Conservation and Collections Care Manager, The Wellcome Library
Dr Spike Bucklow (SB), Senior Research Scientist, University of Cambridge Museums
Deborah Cane (DC), Collections Care Manager, Birmingham Museums Trust
Dr Mary Davis (MD), Principal Analytical Services Officer, National Museum Wales
Dr Christina Duffy (CD), Conservation Imaging Scientist, The British Library
Dr Edward Impey (EI), Director, Royal Armouries
Katy Lithgow (KL), Head Conservator, National Trust
Alastair McCapra (AM), Chair designate
Professor David Watkinson (DW), Professor (Conservation), Cardiff University
Amber Xavier-Rowe (AXR), Head of Collections Conservation, English Heritage Trust

The resolution to appoint or reappoint the individuals named above as trustees of the charity was proposed by MC, seconded by EH and unanimously agreed by the members.

5. Ordinary resolution 3: To appoint Alastair McCapra as Chair of the charity

The resolution to appoint Alastair McCapra as Chair of the charity was proposed by NB, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed by the members.

6. Any other business

There was no other business.

The AGM closed at 16.37.