

Annual General Meeting

Argyll's Lodging, Castle Wynd, Stirling FK8 1EG 10 November 2016

Draft Minutes

Attending

Nancy Bell (**NB**), Head of Collection Care, The National Archives
Gill Campbell (**GC**), Head of Environmental Studies, Historic England
Dr Christina Duffy (**CD**), Conservation Imaging Scientist, The British Library
Professor Carl Heron (**CH**), Director of Scientific Research, British Museum
Dr Ewan Hyslop (**EH**), Head of Technical Research and Science, Historic Environment Scotland
Alastair McCapra (**AM**), Chair
Alison Richmond (**AR**), Chief Executive, ICON
Jacqueline Ridge (**JR**), Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries Scotland
Dr Constantina Vlachou (**CV**), Senior Conservation Scientist, Historic Royal Palaces

Apologies

Daniel Bone (DB), Deputy Head of Conservation, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford University Dr Spike Bucklow (SB), Senior Research Scientist, University of Cambridge Museums Professor May Cassar (MC), Director Institute of Sustainable Heritage, UCL John Jackson (JJ), Science Policy Adviser, Natural History Museum Dr Pip Laurenson (PL), Head of Collection Care Research, Tate Katy Lithgow (KL), Head Conservator, National Trust Professor Mary Ryan (MR), Imperial College London David Thickett (DT), Senior Conservation Scientist, English Heritage Trust Jane Thompson-Webb (JTW), Conservation Team Leader, Birmingham Museums Trust Professor David Watkinson (DW), Professor (Conservation), Cardiff University

In attendance

Caroline Peach (CP), Consultant Development Director, National Heritage Science Forum

1. Welcome

The meeting started at 15.35. Alastair McCapra welcomed members to the meeting in his role as Chair.

2. Minutes of 16 December 2015 meeting and matters arising

The minutes of the previous AGM on 16 December 2015 had been circulated in advance. The minutes were proposed as a correct record by NB, seconded by AR and unanimously agreed by all members present.

There were no matters arising.

3. Ordinary resolution 1: To receive the trustees' annual report

The resolution to receive the trustees' annual report to 30 March 2016 was proposed by GC, seconded by JR and unanimously agreed.

4. Ordinary resolution 2: To receive the statement of annual accounts

The resolution to receive the charity's annual accounts to 30 March 2016 was proposed by EH, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed.

5. Ordinary resolution 3: To appoint or reappoint trustees of the charity

In accordance with NHSF's Constitution one third of trustees retire at the AGM.

Trustees standing for reappointment:

Nancy Bell, Head of Collection Care, The National Archives
Gill Campbell, Head of Environmental Studies, Historic England
John Jackson, Head of Science Policy and Communication, Natural History Museum
Alison Richmond, Chief Executive, Icon, the institute of Conservation
Jacqueline Ridge, Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries Scotland

Trustees standing for appointment:

Daniel Bone, Deputy Head of Conservation, Ashmolean Museum
Carl Heron, Director of Scientific Research, British Museum
Mary Ryan, Professor of Materials Science & Nanotechnology, Imperial College London
David Thickett, Senior Conservation Scientist, English Heritage

The resolution to appoint or reappoint the individuals named above as trustees of the charity was proposed by CD, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed by the members.

6. Special resolution: To agree a change to clause 16 of NHSF's Constitution

From: "Any person who retires as a trustee by rotation or by giving notice to the CIO is eligible for reappointment. A charity trustee who has served for three consecutive terms may not be reappointed for a fourth consecutive term but may be reappointed after an interval of at least three years."

To: "Any person who retires as a trustee by rotation or by giving notice to the CIO is eligible for reappointment. No person may serve as a trustee for more than seven consecutive years, however many times they have been reappointed."

The resolution to change clause 16 of NHSF's Constitution was proposed by AR, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed by the members.

7. Any other business

Members recorded thanks to CP for services over the past year.

The AGM closed at 15.45.