

Annual General Meeting

Lecture Theatre, 1st Floor, Tower of London, EC3N 4AB 5 December 2018 at 16.30

Draft Minutes

Attending

Dr Lora Angelova **(LA),** Head of Conservation Research and Audience Development, The National Archives

Gill Campbell (GC), Head of Environmental Studies, Historic England

Professor Carl Heron (CH), Director of Scientific Research, British Museum

John Jackson (JJ), Science Policy Adviser, Natural History Museum

Katy Lithgow (KL), Head Conservator, National Trust

Alastair McCapra (AM), Chair

Dr Bronwyn Ormsby (BO), Conservation Scientist, Tate

Dr Paola Ricciardi (PR), Research Scientist, University of Cambridge Museums

Dr Aurelie Turmel (AT), Conservation Science Manager, Historic Environment Scotland

Dr Constantina Vlachou (CV), Senior Conservation Scientist, Historic Royal Palaces

Apologies

Daniel Bone (**DB**), Deputy Head of Conservation, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford University Professor May Cassar (**MC**), Director Institute of Sustainable Heritage, UCL Professor Mary Ryan (**MR**), Imperial College London Jacqueline Ridge (**JR**), Keeper of Conservation, National Galleries Scotland David Thickett (**DT**), Senior Conservation Scientist, English Heritage Trust Professor David Watkinson (**DW**), Professor (Conservation), Cardiff University

In attendance

Professor Pip Laurenson (**PL**), Head of Collection Care Research, Tate Caroline Peach (**CP**), Consultant Development Director, National Heritage Science Forum

1. Welcome

The meeting started at 16.40.

Alastair McCapra welcomed members to the meeting in his role as Chair.

2. Minutes of 28 November 2017 meeting and matters arising

The minutes of the previous AGM on 28 November 2017 had been circulated in advance. The minutes were proposed as a correct record by CV, seconded by GC and unanimously agreed by all members present.

There were no matters arising.

3. Ordinary resolution 1: To receive the trustees' annual report

The Chair asked if there were any questions in relation to the Trustees' Annual report for the year ending 30 March 2017. There were no questions.

The resolution to receive the trustees' annual report to 30 March 2017 was proposed by KL, seconded by PR and unanimously agreed.

4. Ordinary resolution 2: To receive the statement of annual accounts

The resolution to receive the charity's annual accounts to 30 March 2017 was proposed by KL, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed.

5. Ordinary resolution 3: To appoint or reappoint trustees of the charity

In accordance with NHSF's Constitution one third of trustees retire at the AGM but may be reappointed providing that their term of office does not exceed seven consecutive years.

Over 90 % of members of NHSF had agreed by electronic vote to add the names of Bronwyn Ormsby and Paul Garside to the list of trustees standing for appointment at the 2018 AGM.

Trustees standing for reappointment:
John Jackson, Natural History Museum
Alastair McCapra, Chairman
Jacqueline Ridge, National Galleries Scotland
David Watkinson, Cardiff University

Trustees standing for appointment:
Lora Angelova, The National Archives
Paul Garside, The British Library
Bronwyn Ormsby, Tate
Aurelie Turmel, Historic Environment Scotland

The resolution to appoint or reappoint the individuals named above as trustees of the charity was proposed by GC, seconded by CV and unanimously agreed by the members.

6. Any other business

There was no other business.

The AGM closed at 16.50.